Weekly Photo Challenge: Resolved

DSC_0221

This is my “first” time posting to the Weekly Photo Challenge but I hope to make it a regular thing to inspire me both in blogging and photography. This will be a short post as I have chosen to begin this on a Thursday night before the weekly assignment changes and I have to be up at 4am for work tomorrow. I hope you enjoy.

I am not one to make “New Year’s Resolutions”, in fact, in many ways, I have sworn them off. To be completely honest, I, like most Americans, show the world how unresolved I actually am through my “resolutions.” I boldly post to facebook… or my blog… “I’m going to lose weight!”, “I have given up sugar!”, or “My resolution is to watch less tv!” Then, a few weeks later I show my true color as I find I have not changed at all. Maybe I’ve even put on a few pounds. So here I do not make a resolutions (though I hope to be resolved), but share a desire. One which I will earnestly peruse.

As I enter 2013 I desire to take on the attitude of the Apostle Paul and seek to know nothing “except Jesus Christ, and Him crucified.” (1 Corinthians 2:1-5) Above is an image of a wood carving I brought back from Prague. It is a reminder to me of the price Christ paid for my sin. I am a protestant believer so you will not find images of Christ on the cross in my home. I do not believe that is where He resides. You will see crosses around as reminders of the price paid for my sin and the cross I must bear to be a true disciple but you will not find Him still hanging there. He was taken down from that cross, buried, raised on the third day, and now sits at the right hand of God.

But the Apostle does not stop with just his desire to know Christ. He also desire for that knowledge to lead him to spread the message everywhere he went of who Christ was and what He had done. This message was not preached by Paul in his own power but through the power of God for the strengthening of man’s faith. This too is my desire. I desire to know only Christ and Him crucified so that in my weakness I may rest in His power for the glory of His name.

Leave a Reply

